Aug 11, 2011

India Sorted with West Indies for Under-19 World Cup

ICC Under 19 World Cup logo

India clubbed with West Indies, Zimbabwe and Papua New Guinea for the preliminary phase of the ICC Under-19 World Cup to be held in Australia next year.

The occasion will get happening in Queensland exactly one year from now and Scotland will be there as the leading Associate after winning eight of their nine matches during the qualifiers, which happened in Dublin and Derry.

Defending champions and hosts, Australia, will head Group A have been drawn alongside 1998 winner England, Nepal and Ireland, the ICC said in a declaration.

Group B is made up of the last event's runner-up and two-time winner Pakistan, New Zealand, Scotland and Afghanistan while 2000

2008 champion India have been concerned Group C along with West Indies, Zimbabwe and PNG. Sri Lanka, South Africa, Bangladesh and Namibia make up Group D.

ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat
Haroon Lorgat

ICC chief executive Haroon Lorgat said, "The ICC U19 Cricket World Cup is a very important tournament for us and I want to congratulate those six teams who have qualified to take part in Queensland next year."

"This tournament has proved to be an important stepping stone for elite young cricketers aspiring to play international cricket. It's an opportunity for them to develop and test their skills in a high-pressure situation against the world's best at this level," he added.

No comments:

Post a Comment